E-mail: editor@loyola.ca

Loyola High School, 7272 Sherbrooke Street West,
Montreal, Quebec, Canada H4B 1R2

 Loyola High School’s Student News Organization     Montreal, Quebec, Canada     Last update: March 21, 2017     

The Loyola News

2017 schedule

February 25 - The schedule for the remaining practice sessions and tournaments has been finalized.

Tuesday, March 21: Practice

Thursday, March 23: St. Ethelwald Open

Wednesday, March 29: Practice

FRIDAY, March 31: St. Michael Tour Championship (3:15 PM - 7:00 PM)

Mikus wins his first tournament, ends Coré’s perfect streak

March 2 - Veteran Stephen Mikus won his first LTTC tournament on Thursday at the St. Angela of the Cross Open. Mikus was appearing in his third tournament final of his career (all this season) and defeated number two seed Christopher Coré 2-0. It was the first defeat of the season for Coré.

Genest ends table tennis slump

February 24 - Congratulations to Louis Genest who won the St. Martha Open yesterday. It was the second victory of his career and first since December of 2015. Genest defeated Andrzej Fedorowicz, who was appearing in his third final of the season but who has yet to enter the winner's circle.

Christopher Coré remains undefeated

February 16 - Congratulations to Christopher Coré who won his third tournament of the year yesterday and still has not lost a match this season. Coré came back from one game down in both the semi-finals and finals before finally outlasting Stephen Mikus, who was appearing in his second straight final. With the win, Coré returns to the number one seed position.

William Molson wins his second straight tournament

February 10 - Congratulations to William Molson who won his second straight tournament yesterday. Molson defeated first-time finalist Stephen Mikus 2-0 in the final of the Tom Brady Open.

2017 champions

1. St. Fabian Open: Christopher Coré

2. St. Conan Open: Christopher Coré

3. Roger Federer Open: William Molson

4. Tom Brady Open: William Molson

5. St. Saturninus Open: Christopher Coré

6. St. Martha Open: Louis Genest

7. St. Angela of the Cross Open: Stephen Mikus

Career Wins Leaders

7  Anthony Porporino

6  John-Anthony Néemeh

5  Anthony Evans

4  Benjamin Gauthier

3  Jack Drouin

3  Christopher Coré

2  Jarrett Ketterling

2  William Molson

2  Louis Genest

1  Evan Arzenshek

1  Frédérick-Yvon McAuliffe

1  Tomas Fresco-Giulione

1 - Stephen Mikus

LTTC Hall of Fame

1. Anthony Evans (2013-14)

2. Anthony Porporino (2013-2016)

3. John-Anthony Néemeh (2014-2016)

Tournament results

A complete record of LTTC tournament results can be found here.

LTTC Player Rankings 2017

Last update: March 21, 2017

Click here for the complete list of player rankings.

The official LTTC polo

Pictured below: the new official LTTC polo. Click on the polo for an enlargement.


International Table Tennis Federation

The International Table Tennis Federation (I.T.T.F.) is the governing body for all international table tennis associations, including The Loyola Table Tennis Club (L.T.T.C.). The role of the I.T.T.F. includes overseeing rules and regulations and seeking technological improvement for the sport of table tennis. You can click on the logo above to visit the I.T.T.F.’s official site.

The Rules

Read the official I.T.T.F. laws of table tennis. Click here for the short guide to the laws of table tennis.

The Loyola Table Tennis Club